Footballers Union of Zimbabwe

Facebook Twitter Youtube




AFTER an illustrious football career stretching back to 2001 when he played for Caps United, former Warriors defender Thomas Sweswe has called it a day after being voted Footballers’ Union of Zimbabwe (FUZ) secretary-general at a congress held in Harare on Monday.Sweswe (36) replaced the late Paul Gundani, who passed away in November 2015.

He confirmed yesterday that his playing days were over after a stint in South Africa where he played for Kaizer Chiefs and Bidvest Wits to end his career at ZPC Kariba.

“I have decided to call it quits. I am happy to join FUZ where I will impart my football knowledge and help our youngsters, especially in cases to do with contractual issues,” Sweswe said.

Desmond Maringwa remains president of the union, deputised by Herbert Dick while Nomsa “Boyz” Moyo remains the body’s treasurer.

Sweswe was voted secretary-general of FUZ beating other nominees Ashley Rambanepasi, Wonder Sithole and Mkhokheli Dube.

Maringwa yesterday confirmed Sweswe’s new engagement.

“We had a congress yesterday (Monday) and Sweswe was chosen to become the new secretary general. We had a voting process where there were other nominees Mkhokheli Dube, Ashely Rambanepasi, Wonder Sithole and Sweswe was eventually voted the new SG,” Maringwa said.

Rambanepasi and Sithole were voted into the union as committee members while Dube will handle player relations in Bulawayo.

Obert Moyo will be in charge of player relations in Matabeleland North with Tendai Hove representing players in Mashonaland West.

Sithole, voted into the executive as a committee member, will represent players in Manicaland while Rambanepasi will be in charge of player relations in Harare and Mashonaland Central.

Sweswe played for Dynamos and Mwana Africa locally.

He also featured for Sporting Lions and Highlanders between 2002 and 2004 and moved to South Africa where he played for Manning Rangers.
Sweswe played for the Warriors in the Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers in 2010 and 2011.